Scientific Committee

What we do

We are entrusted with developing the core programme of UEG Week.

We meet four times a year and are in constant communication with the UEG Secretariat to smooth out the details of the scientific programme management. This on-going and dynamic relationship is key to the high quality programme people have come to expect at UEG Week.

Chair Scientific Committee
Herbert Tilg
  • Innsbruck Medical University
  • Innsbruck
  • Austria

Scientific Committee Members

Mustapha Adham, France (EFISDS)
Alberto Arezzo, Italy (EAES)
Marianna Arvanitakis, Belgium (Independent)
Marina Berenguer, Spain (Independent)
Guy Boeckxstaens, Belgium (Independent)
Giuseppe Brancatelli, Italy (ESGAR)
Arjan Bredenoord, Netherlands (Independent)
Marco Bruno, Netherlands (EAGEN)
Cristina Carretero, Spain (NSC Representative)
Carolina Ciacci, Italy (Coeliac Representative)
Iris Dotan, Israel (ECCO)
Irene Esposito, Germany (ESP)
Antonio Gasbarrini, Italy (EHMSG)

Cesare Hassan, Italy (ESGE)
Peter Hegyi, Hungary (EPC)
Roel Hompes, Netherlands (ESCP)
Francisca Joly, France (ESPEN)
Kaija-Leena Kolho, Finland (ESPGHAN)
Christos Lionis, Greece (ESPCG)
Pedro Rodrigues, Spain (YTG Representative)
Sabine Roman, France (ESNM)
Jörn Schattenberg, Germany (EASL)
Britta Siegmund, Germany (Independent)
Mark van Berge Henegouwen, Netherlands (EDS)
Jean-Luc Van Laethem, Belgium (ESDO)
Thomas Wirth, Germany (Independent)


Programme & Education Management
Maresa Wiener
  • M: +43 699 1997 16 05
  • T: +43 1 997 16 39
Programme & Education Management
Elisabeth Pfeiffer
  • M: +43 699 1997 16 23
  • T: +43 1 997 16 39

Volunteer for UEG!

Take the next step in your career and join our activities by serving on one of our boards & committees as volunteer!