Journal Best Paper Award

Journal Best Paper Awardee 2023 – Robert Hüneburg

Robert Hüneburg, the first author of the winning article Real-time use of artificial intelligence (CADEYE) in colorectal cancer surveillance of patients with Lynch syndrome-A randomized controlled pilot trial (CADLY) is a gastroenterologist in the Department of Internal Medicine I, National Center for Hereditary Tumor Syndromes, University Hospital Bonn, Germany. 

This well-designed German prospective study used a randomised and prospective approach. The topic of artificial intelligence (AI) in healthcare, particularly in relation to endoscopy, is becoming increasingly popular, making this study highly relevant and timely. This is also reflected in the high Altmetrics score, indicating its widespread attention and engagement. Another appealing aspect is the immediate applicability of the study's results in clinical practice.

Watch the recording with Robert Hüneburg who received his award in the UEG Week session Best of hepatology in UEG Journal, and listen to the in-depth discussion of his article available on UEG Week+. 


Tune in to our podcasts!

Each UEG Journal podcast episode highlights one of the most relevant articles published recently.
Have a listen!

Access podcasts

Best papers of previous years

2021 - Nicolas Richard
Gastroenterology- Rouen University Hospital, France.
First author of the winning article: The effectiveness of rotating versus single course antibiotics for small intestinal bacterial overgrowth

2020 - Andrew Wisniewski
Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne of the University of Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada.
First author of the winning article: Increased incidence of systemic serious viral infections in patients with inflammatory bowel disease associates with active disease and use of thiopurines

Watch the recording of the award ceremony

2018 - Joaquín Cubiella
Complexo Hospitalario Universitario de Ourense, Spain.
First author of the winning article: Correlation between adenoma detection rate in colonoscopy- and fecal immunochemical testing-based colorectal cancer screening programs

2017 - Clive H. Wilder-Smith
Department of Preventive, Restorative and Paediatric Dentistry Bern University, Switzerland.
First author of the winning article: Gastro-oesophageal reflux is common in oligosymptomatic patients with dental erosion: A pH-impedance and endoscopic study
Watch the interview with Clive H. Wilder-Smith

2016 - Tara Raftery
National Children's Research Centre, Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Dublin, Ireland.
First author of the winning article: Effects of vitamin D supplementation on intestinal permeability, cathelicidin and disease markers in Crohn’s disease: Results from a randomised double-blind placebo-controlled study

2015 - Asbjørn Christophersen
Centre for Immune Regulation, University of Oslo, Norway.
First author of the the winning article: Tetramer-visualized gluten-specific CD4+ T cells in blood as a potential diagnostic marker for coeliac disease without oral gluten challenge

This prize awards the best UEG Journal article

With this award we recognise the first named author of the best original scientific research, published in UEG Journal in the past year. 

Target group

First named authors of submitted articles to UEG Journal.

How it works

Submit your article to be eligible

Association Management
Julia Kasper