MEP Digestive Health Group

Coordinating European action to reduce the burden of digestive diseases

MEP Digestive Health Group Event: Digestive cancers - turning the tide through prevention

On May 16, 12:00-13:15 CEST,  the European Parliament Interest Group on Digestive Health will convene a virtual meeting. The discussion will focus on the current challenges and policy opportunities in cancer prevention. Expert speakers representing UEG will provide the scientific outlook while leading EU policymakers will share their perspectives on what can be done at EU level to improve the prevention of digestive cancers. 

Register now

The status quo of digestive health in Europe

You must enable analytical cookies to watch this video

Message from MEP Cristian Busoi

You must enable analytical cookies to watch this video

A voice for digestive health in the European Parliament

The Digestive Health Group is a cross-party platform of Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) from different EU Member States. The group is chaired by MEP Antonio Tajani and counts 14 MEPs. The group aims to raising awareness of the need for better prevention, improved treatment and greater understanding of the causes of digestive diseases. It draws attention to the real-life impact of digestive diseases, their socio-economic burden and it fosters health literacy to strengthen the competence of citizens to manage their health.

Key topics include:

  • Prevention & treatment of digestive diseases
  • Promoting a healthy lifestyle
  • Social and economic costs of (chronic) digestive diseases
  • Nutrition/ marketing polices encouraging healthy lifestyles
  • Mitigation of alcohol related harm
  • Digestive cancers: implementation of quality-controlled screening programmes; increasing standards in cancer care
  • Foster research on digestive health in Horizon Europe

Our supporters

MEP Antonio Tajani, Chair of the Group, Italy (EPP)
MEP Sara Cerdas, Vice-Chair of the Group, Portugal (S&D) 
MEP Sarah Wiener, Vice-Chair of the Group, Austria (Greens) 
MEP Bartosz Arlukowicz, Poland (EPP) 
MEP Biljana Borzan, Croatia (S&D) 
MEP Cristian Busoi, Romania (EPP) 
MEP Romana Jerkovic, Croatia (S&D)
MEP Liudas Mazylis, Lithuania (EPP)
MEP Dolors Montserrat, Spain (EPP) 
MEP Sirpa Pietikainen, Finland (EPP) 
MEP Manuel Pizzaro, Portugal (S&D) 
MEP Michele Rivasi, France (Greens) 
MEP Rob Rooken, The Netherlands (ECR) 
MEP Susana Solis, Spain (Renew)

How to join the group

To become a supporter, please email .

Public Affairs & Advocacy Management
Andreea Botos
  • M: +43 699 1997 16 42
  • T: +43 1 997 16 39